top of page
  • Foto del escritorCes Heredia

No More Wasting Limes

Desde chiquita he tenido un lugar especial en mi corazón para la música country. La manera en que muchas las canciones suelen hacer que las cosas tristes suenen menos malas y las cosas buenas suenen aún mejor se me hace lo máximo. Bueno o malo, te dan ganas de cantar en vez de llorar, y eso es algo que creo que todos podemos apreciar un poquito (especialmente con este 2020, que no va como la mayoría esperaba). Hace poco, una de mis cantantes de country favoritas sacó una canción que me dejó pensando...


En medio de todo este desmadre me he dado cuenta de las personas que realmente vale la pena tener en mi vida, (aunque no estemos en la misma ciudad, el mismo país o el mismo continente) y de quienes son aquellos que, como dice mi canción country favorita de este verano, son solo un gasto innecesario de alcohol y limones. Después de meses encerrada en casa, no he ma quedado más remedio que reflexionar sobre muchas cosas que reprimí dentro de mi por muchísimo tiempo… Entre ellas, en quien gasto mi energía, mi cariño y mi tiempo. Hay personas que pueden no siempre estar ahí para abrazarte cuando las necesitas, pero que siempre harán hasta la imposible para intentar hacer sentirte mejor de lejos; personas que sin importar el día o la hora van a dejar lo que sea con tal de escucharte hablar de tu ligue fallido, tu corazón roto, tu nueva idea de negocio, de cuando tu mac decide fallar dos veces en un mes, o de lo harta que estás de no poder salir de tu casa por un elote (ya saben cosas que pasan). También están aquellos que un día dicen que eres tu máximo, y que juran que estarán en tu vida para siempre y que hacen planes y que de un día para otro deciden que siempre no. Que “eres demasiada carga emocional para ellos”. A todos estos les digo, salud y que les vaya bien.


En estos 100+ días de cuarentena (la verdad ya perdí la cuenta exacta) decidí borrar de mi celular y de mi vida a todas esas personas que solo resultan ser un gasto innecesario de energía, lágrimas y limones. Si, de limones.. Cuando hago margaritas con tequila o cócteles veraniegos, lo primero en lo que pienso es en cortar limones. Así que no más gasto de limones y tequila para “llorar” por aquellos que no saben apreciar mi cariño, atención y amistad. No más desvivirme intentando ser un soporte emocional para aquellos que solo toman y toman y no consideran para nada lo que yo siento. No más amistades ni relaciones que me llenen de ansiedad más que de amor y cariño. Me rehúso a tolerar que a alguien que un día me llama su todo y al día siguiente me llama una carga, por más cariño que le tenga a esa persona, o por más que sepa que la está pasando difícil. Hay una línea delgada entre ser un buen amigo y dejar que alguien juegue contigo. No más. Si algo he aprendido durante esta pandemia es que hay gente que, sin importar la distancia, si va a estar para ti; que si hay gente que me quiere y que le echa ganas para que la relación sea bilateral. Yo doy y tú das y juntos damos y hacemos que esto funcione.


Y, obvio, entiendo que no toda la gente que me rodea va a estar disponible para hablar conmigo todo el tiempo. Todos tenemos vidas y cosas que hacer, y días malos en los que no queremos saber del mundo… Pero todo se trata de balance, ¿no? Si hay gente que constantemente se pone a sí misma primero, sin considerar lo que sus acciones te hacen sentir, ¿realmente vale la pena considerarles como alguien cercano a ti? ¿como alguien que vale la pena tener en tu vida? No. No vale la pena tu desgaste emocional por amigos, ligues, novios, familiares, vecinos o compañeros de trabajo que no son capaces de ser empáticos. Si algo nos va a dejar la pandemia, que sea el apreciar más a quienes constantemente intentan querernos y apoyarnos (aunque a veces fallen, al final del día somos humanos e imperfectos), y dejar de gastarnos con aquellos que simplemente no nos consideran ni respetan lo suficiente. Al final del día, dejar de gastar limones, tequila y tiempo en aquellos que no nos aprecian es otra forma de querernos a nosotros mismos, y ya va siendo hora de que practique más este amor propio del que tanto hablo.

En fin… Es hora de comer. Y por hora de comer, me refiero a que es hora de bajar a la cocina y tomarme unos tequilas con mi familia y brindar por aquellos en mi vida que si valen los limones que voy a cortar.


Xo,

C.


 

No More Wasting Limes


Ever since I was little I’ve had a special place for country music in my heart. It’s probably the fact that most songs I’ve heard seem to try to make a hard time lighter. Bad breakup? Let’s sing, drink and dance. Hard times? Let’s sing, drink and dance! Getting married? Let’s sing, drink and dance! It’s music that just usually puts a smile on your face, good or bad things aside, and to be honest that’s something we could all use a bit of during this 2020 so far. Anyway, recently one of my favorite country singers released a song that not only got stuck in my head for days, but algo left me thinking…


During these 100+ days of Covid-19 quarantine I’ve realized there’s people who are just not worthy of being in my life anymore. I mean, there’s always going to be that friend who doesn’t text back because they forget, or the one that forgets your birthday sometimes, but I mean the people who just do not care about you, no matter how much you care about them. There’s friends, those who would give anything to make a virtual hug a real hug when your life is falling apart, and there’s those “friends” who, much like Ingrid Andress sings, are simply a waste of a good margarita and a lime.


After months of being stuck indoors, I’ve had so much time to force myself to reflect on the things that I’ve repressed inside me for so long. Among those things was making a mental list of the people in my life worthy of my time, my energy, my love and my limes. I know the people who may sometimes not answer all my texts are still the ones who would run to my side to listen to me bitch about a breakup, or my credit card debt, or how my macbook broke down twice in one month, or just about how annoying it is not being able to safely go out for a damn snack when I feel like it. Then, there’s those who one day will tell you you’re their everything, promise to be in your life forever and suddenly, from one day to the other, change their mind. There’s those who will promise emotional support in times of need, but when you actually need them, they’re nowhere to be found; or those who end up resenting you for their own actions. We’re all entitled to our opinions and feelings about other people, but to those who feel like I’m “too much of a burden for them” I say cheers and good riddance!


In 100+ days of quarantine (tbh, I’ve lost count of the exact number of days… Too many, if you ask me) I have decided to delete from my phone and from my life all those people who just aren’t as “there” for me as I am for them and who are quite frankly, a waste of time, energy and limes. Yes, limes! Because quarantine or not, it’s summer and summer means margaritas and tequila shots with a side of lime. So, no more wasting alcohol and limes to “cry” over those who don’t show up for me when they’re needed, but still feel like they can take away my time and love. No more one-sided friendships and relationships that bring me more anxiety than joy. I refuse to tolerate people in my life who one day will call me their everything and the next decide “I’m too much and need too much”. Nope. No more. There’s a fine line between being a good, supportive friend to those going through harder times than you, and letting people take and take and take and not give anything back. Relationships of anytime need work form both parties to actually work, and I’ve since learned the hard way that no matter how much work one of those parties puts in, it will never make up for the fact that the other person involved isn’t carrying their weight.


And yes, of course I know not everyone in my life will be there for me literally 24/7. I know we all have lives and families and jobs and our own emotional well-being to take care of… but it’s all about balance, right? If there’s people who will constantly put themselves first, no matter what and then make you feel guilty when they are forced to put you first for once, is that person really worth having in your life? Or calling a friend? Nope. Seriously not worth the emotional strain anymore. There is no one, not friends, not significant others, not coworkers or family members who are worth jeopardizing your sanity and mental well-being for if they constantly don’t show up for you and who are incapable of being empathetic from time to time. If quarantine leaves me with any sort of lesson, it will be that. I need to spend more time appreciating those who are with the appreciation, and who try to make me a part of their lives as much as I try to make them a part of mine.


At the end of the day, deciding to not waste limes, tequila and time on those who aren’t worth those things is a for of self-care, and it’s about damn time I start practicing a little more of this self-care and self-love that I talk about so much.


Anway, it’s lunch time here… And by “lunch time” I mean it’s time to go downstairs and enjoy some frozen tequila with a side of lime, have lunch with the fam and toast to those who are actually worth the limes I’m about to use. Cheers!


Xo,

C.



25 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page