top of page
  • Foto del escritorCes Heredia

Sobre Feminismo y Lo Que Significa (Para Mi) Ser Feminista.


¿No les pasa que a veces les sorprende la cantidad de emociones y opiniones que puede generar una sola palabra? Un conjunto de letras que con solo leerlas o escucharlas nos hacen sentir todo tipo de pasiones y que a veces hasta hacen que las cosas terminen en pelea. Trump. Sexo. Gay. Aborto. Feminismo. Con tan solo meterse a Facebook hoy en día uno se encuentra discusiones interminables en los comentarios de fotos y vídeos, instigados por estas palabras tan controversiales. De todas esas palabras controversiales, hoy en día mi favorita es feminismo.

Uff, si les contara las veces que he discutido con amigos y familiares defendiendo esta palabra (y obvio, todo lo que representa). Pero primero lo primero… Creo que para intentar entender por qué tanta controversia, primero hay que conocer lo que es (y lo que no es) el feminismo. El feminismo es un conjunto de movimientos políticos, culturales, sociales y económicos que busca la igualdad de derechos entre hombres y mujeres. Busca, principalmente, eliminar la dominancia que históricamente han tenido los hombres sobre las mujeres y de paso, eliminar los roles de género tradicionales. O sea, el feminismo busca que tengamos los mismos derechos, para bien y para mal. Ni más, ni menos.

¿Qué porque se llama feminismo y no igualitarismo? Simple, porque el movimiento busca elevar la posición social, económica y cultural en la que nos encontramos las mujeres. No, esto no significa que las feministas odiamos a los hombres y los pensamos menos. ¡Para nada! Significa que como minoría (y si, somos minoría según la ONU. Hay 1.5% menos mujeres que hombres en el mundo) tenemos este movimiento que busca defendernos a nosotras, las mujeres (o féminas, como la palabra en latín que dio orígen al nombre del movimiento).

Yo personalmente me declaro total y absolutamente feminista. Si, admito que en algún momento de mi vida me daba miedo decirlo. Es más en algún momento también fui de esas personas que dijo algo tipo “¿Feminista, yo? Ni que fuera fea” o alguna burrada por el estilo. Yo también llegué a pensar que ser feminista era algo malo, poco cool y algo por lo que estar avergonzada. Pensaba, equivocadamente, que el ser feminista me haría menos atractiva, o que tenía que odiar a los hombres y que automáticamente me quedaría sin amigos, pero como dice mi abuela, es de sabios cambiar de opinión.

Hoy comprendo que el feminismo es necesario. Comprendo que mientras más personas lo tomen como algo bueno que nos trae y seguirá trayendo cambios positivos a todos sin importar nuestro género, la sociedad y el mundo en que vivimos seguirá mejorando. A mi personalmente, el feminismo me ayudó a contestar preguntas que ni siquiera sabía que tenía y me ha ayudado a convertirme en una mejor versión de mi misma. Leer e informarme más sobre este tema me ha ayudado a darme cuenta del valor que tengo como persona, independientemente de lo que piensen los demás de mi. Gracias a esto pude empezar a aprender a quererme a mi misma, pude entender que ganamos más ayudándonos unas a otras que metiéndonos el pie.

Claro, como todo movimiento hay divergencias; no es uno solo. Unos piensan una cosa, otros piensan otra, pero en el fondo el objetivo es el mismo. A veces se nos olvida que no es perfecto. Es un movimiento impulsado por seres humanos, y como seres humanos que somos, somos imperfectos. Tendemos a poner al movimiento, y a quienes se unen a él, en una especie de pedestal. Nos enojamos cuando alguna se queda corta, o no cabe en nuestra idea de lo que el movimiento debería ser y de los comportamientos que una feminista debe tener. Se nos olvida que las imperfecciones abundan, no solo en el feminismo, si no en los seres humanos, y que son gracias a ellas que día con día tenemos la oportunidad de crecer y mejorar. Nadie es perfecto, ni nuestra visión personal del feminismo es la 100% ideal. Aun así, creer en el feminismo y vivirlo a la mejor de nuestras posibilidades es una manera de navegar nuestra vida diaria y la sociedad en que vivimos.

Aún así, aún sabiendo todo esto, hay gente se opone totalmente a esto. Hay gente que busca hacernos menos por querer más derechos y oportunidades, los mismos que tienen ellos. Por querer equidad y justicia. Hay quienes buscan callar nuestras voces porque les incomodan o porque les molestan. O simplemente porque aún pueden. Tengo la teoría de que aquellos (principalmente hombres) que le temen al feminismo y lo pintan como algo negativo son los mismos que saben que tienen algo que perder cuando gana el feminismo. Son los mismos que saben que no podrán acosar, piropear, maltratar, ignorar o callar a las mujeres con tanta facilidad. Y les molesta… Les molesta no poder controlar, les molesta perder el status quo. Entiendo que el cambio es difícil de asimilar, sobre todo cuando por siglos se han encontrado en una posición de ganar…

¡El cambio es bueno! El feminismo nos beneficia a todos, sin importar nuestro género. Si, yo quiero que como mujer no me maten en la calle porque no quise salir con el vecino, pero también quiero que mi hermano pueda llorar en público o expresar sus emociones sin que lo llamen “marica”. O que mis amigos puedan salir de noche sin que la gente los insulte o acose porque les incomoda ver dos hombres tomados de la mano. Quiero que mi hermana tenga la misma posibilidad que su compañero de trabajo de que la suban de puesto, y que sus colegas no asuman que, como es mujer, seguro fue por andar de fácil y no por su conocimiento y experiencia. Quiero que dejen de asumir que cuando ven Ing. Martínez en la oficina de mi mejor amiga asuman que es hombre, porque ¿cómo? ¿Una mujer ingeniero en un puesto tan importante?.

Al final de cuentas, el feminismo busca que tengamos oportunidad de decidir, igual que los hombres, sobre nuestras vidas, nuestros cuerpos, nuestros futuros, nuestras familias y nuestras finanzas. Atrás quedaron los días donde había que pedir permiso para salir de fiesta, para tener cuenta de banco, para hablar o para pensar. Ser feminista o no serlo es decisión personal y si una mujer decide o no identificarse como tal, está en todo su derecho de hacerlo. Mi obligación como feminista que soy es pelear y alzar la voz en busca de derechos iguales para todas. Sí, también para las que no creen en el movimiento.

Xo,

C.

 

On Feminism and Being a Feminist

Have you ever noticed how much power some words have? I mean, yes, of course language and words are tremendously powerful when used correctly, but I mean specific words. Some words have the power to invoke such controversial opinions and strong feelings that oftentimes lead to big discussions and arguments. Trump. Sex. Homosexual. Abortion. Feminism. A quick scroll through any Facebook feed will likely result in the discovery of hundreds of comment threads about any of these controversial and powerful words. Out of all those controversial words, my favorite is definitely feminism.

Oh, my G’d, if I had a penny for every time I’ve gotten into an argument with friends or family over that word (and of course, what it stands for), I would have probably already payed off my credit card (hey, don’t judge. I’m a firm believer in retail therapy!) First things first, though… I think that before I try to explain why I’m a feminist, I should talk about what is feminism and what it’s not. Simply put, feminism is a group of different, heterogeneous movements that seek equal rights between men and women. Is primarily seeks to eliminate the historical dominance that men have had over women, and in the process, eliminate the traditional gender roles we’ve been stuck with for centuries. In other words, the goal of feminism is to provide equal rights and opportunities for men and women, for better or for worse. Not more, not less.

Okay, so if it’s striving for equality, why do we have to call it feminism and not just stick with egalitarianism? Simple, because feminism wants to elevate the current “lesser” or “lower” position of women in cultural, societal and economic aspects. No, it does not mean women who identify as feminist hate men. Not at all! It means that as a minority (and yes, women are a minority, since according to data from both CIA and UN, there’s 1.5% less women than men in the world) we have this movement that is helping us level the playing field. It’s looking out for those who have been treated as less.

I’m a proud feminist. Yes, I’ll admit that at some point in my life I was scared of declaring it so openly. Actually, there was even a point in my life where I said things along the lines of “How could I ever be a feminist? I’m not ugly!” (oh, to be young a stupid…). I used to think that being a feminist was a bad thing, and that it somehow made me less attractive, and less “cool”, whatever that meant to me back then. I used to think that I had to hate men, and that I’d automatically lose all my friends. Yes, I now realize how wrong my younger self was.

Now I understand that feminism is very much necessary. I understand that the more people start to take it as a positive thing that’s going to keep bringing good change to everyone no matter their gender, the world and society we live in will keep improving for all of us. Personally, feminism helped me answer questions that as a young woman, I didn’t even know I had; it’s helped me become a better version of myself. Reading and becoming informed on the matter has helped me realize the value I have as a human being, as a woman, regardless of anyone else’s opinion of me. Thanks to all of that, I was able to start learning how to love myself properly. I’ve understood that women banding together and uplifting each other, instead of trying to trip each other over, we achieve more.

Of course, feminism isn’t perfect. Just like in any other social and political movement, there’s divergences; it’s not just one kind of feminism we all subscribe to. Some feel their way toto things is the way to go, others rather stick to theirs. In the end, we all want essentially the same. Sometimes, though, we forget that feminism isn’t perfect. It’s a movement led by human beings who are imperfect and flawed. Putting feminism up in a pedestal only sets us up for disappointment. We get mad when feminists, especially the ones who we look up to, fall short or don’t act, speak or think the way we personally think they should. We often forget that those flaws we complain about are opportunities to grow and achieve a better version of feminism. Nobody’s perfect, and nobody’s version of feminism is 100% ideal; we all just have to try our best. Even then, with all the imperfections and flaws the movement has, it still provides a way to safely navigate the world and society we live in.

Even then, even knowing all of the positive that comes from it, there’s people that fully oppose feminism. There’s people that want want to undermine us, comparing us to Nazis, making us sound like hysterical, crazy people for wanting the same rights and opportunities they have. There’s those who want to silence us because our voices are getting louder and that bothers then, because it makes them uncomfortable, or sadly because a lot of them still can. But those days are numbered. I strongly believe that most of those who so firmly oppose feminism and try to paint it in a negative light are the ones who stand to lose something when feminism wins (again, feminism’s goal is not for men to lose anything. It’s for women to gain more rights and opportunities.) It’s the same people that will no longer be able to get away with catcalling, intimidating, harassing, abusing or raping women so easily, and it bothers them to lose control, to lose the status quo. I mean, I get it. After centuries of being in a position of power (whether they’re aware or not, abusive about it or not, it’s a position of power in society nonetheless), losing the upper hand must not be an easy thing…

Change is good, though! Feminism is a great thing benefits all of us, no matter our what gender we identify as. Yes, I as a woman want to be able to walk around without clutching my keys in my hand because I’m scared that the guy in the next corner will hurt me. I also want my brother to be able to cry in public and express his emotions without being called any kind of derogatory terms. I want my sister to be able to get a big promotion, one she deserves based on her experience and intellect, without people assuming she might’ve “given it up” to some boss. I want my gay friends to be able to walk hand in hand without people harassing them, because it makes them uncomfortable to see two men being affectionate to each other. I want people to stop assuming that when they read “Engineer Martínez” it’s a man, and not my talented and amazing woman best friend. This is not utopian thinking. It’s all possible, and feminism is making all of that possible. Slowly, but it’s happening!

Feminism gives us women the chance to decide, the say way men have been able to do for ages, over our bodies, our lives, our families, and our futures. Gone are they days when we needed permission from a man to go out, to have a bank account or even to speak. Being a feminist or not is each woman’s choice. Since I do identify as one, my obligation is to fight and raise my voice for the rights and opportunities of every single woman. Yes, even those who don’t believe in the movement yet.

Xo,

C.

17 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page